Thanksgiving year round!

Earlier this week I got in to our car to go to work as I normally do. I started our silent world and pocket saver (we drive a Prius) and drove off.  When I got to the highway I realized that I had more tension in my hands than usual (normally I am a little stressed because I’m driving in Houston traffic… who isn’t?).  I was very stressed out for some reason… I searched my mind for everything that normally stresses me out. Was it the bills? No those were paid last week. So it must be family life? No I have an amazing wife and a beautiful baby boy.  I kept thinking only to finally find that I had nothing that should be stressing me out.  I should be happy go lucky. So in light of this observation I wanted to write this post.  I know that Thanksgiving is a few months away yet, but I would like you to humor me. This evening when you eat dinner, think about what is stressing you out and forget about it for five minutes and replace it with all the things that you have to be thankful for.  Here are a few that I am thankful for: my baby boy Phoenix, my beautiful wife Jenn, a roof over my head, my goofy dogs, a job that pays the bills, my family, a group of friends who I miss so much, working transportation, there are just so many things that I have to be thankful for. Think about what you have going in your life that you don’t really give full credit to on a normal basis.

I think the key to remembering to be thankful for things is being present. I’ve been trying recently to stay focused on what I am doing at the moment and not start to think about what I could or should be doing, or what needs to be done for the future.  Just be right where you are and appreciate every moment of it, because it will soon be a memory.

What are some of the things that you take for granted in this life?  What is something that you are thankful for?

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving year round!

  1. Something I’ve found on Pinterest that I swear I will make is a “Give Thanks” jar. You write down on slips of paper when something good happens or something makes you smile and put it in the jar, and then on New Years Eve you read all the great things that happened that year. I think I’ll go find a jar right now.. 😉

Leave a Reply

